Cardboard & Cloth

recipes, DIY, parenting & me time

Mom Tip: Un-Stale-ing Cheerios (and other baked cereals)

Leave a comment

This one came to me after I finally got the little guy to go to sleep for the night and realized that we never ran out to the store for groceries. I had two choices for dinner: some oatmeal baby food I’d made earlier or cereal. I opted for cereal.

Unfortunately, however, the box had been opened for a while and after one bite of those dense, chewy o’s, I almost tossed the box. But then I thought about my other option and decided to figure out a way to make my cereal option a little more edible.

The solution was almost too simple: spread them out on a baking sheet (I used a piece of parchment paper underneath the o’s just in case) and toast them for about 10 minutes at 225 degrees F.

The result was a perfectly crisp cereal with a little bit of home cooked warmth. They only took about 5 minutes to cool down and the meal was a success. The next morning, Edward also approved of the freshly toasted cereal and polished off several handfuls.

 

Author: Kristin Hackler

Kristin Hackler is a freelance writer and editor. She currently lives in Charleston, South Carolina, with her husband, her son Edward, a hound dog and a very self-centered orange cat.

Share Your Thoughts!

